something a little different…question of the week

perhaps this can be a series type thing…hmmmm

do you think you’re a good friend?
honestly. would you be your friend if you were someone else?
 
I don’t think I’m a good friend to certain types of people. 
 
here’s why…I dont have any patience. I have some, but only for things I place value on. 
wait…. for instance, having the patience to really learn someone and know what I can and cannot say. nope. I say what I want, you’re my friend. that means, I won’t say anything to hurt you, you’re my friend, I don’t want to hurt you. I want to ALWAYS be able to tell the truth. 
 
I don’t know how to personally deal with certain types of personalities. in a business professional setting, I can fake it all day and grumble under my breath, but in a personal friendship, I’m not doing that. 
 
passive aggressiveness, no. debbie downers, no. bubbly ass can’t ever be quiet, no. shady go behind your back, no. frienemy, da fuck?
 
this is why I have 2 people in my life I call real friends. I don’t like being around a lot of people. I’m an only child and a serious introvert when it comes to my personal life. and I don’t have any patience. sooo…I know I’m not the best friend in the world, but I’m loyal as hell. I treat my friends with respect and make sure I’m trustworthy. that’s what I value so that’s what I provide. to those 2 individuals, I value our friendships and they get the best of me. these other birds out here…they don’t get shit. lol, just kidding, I don’t fly with birds. my circle is tight. 
 
anywho…I’m curious to know if you’ve ever thought about this
4 thoughts on “something a little different…question of the week

  1. I completely agree. Recently I asked, who I consider to be my best friend, how she thinks of me as a friend, and a situation came up that exposed our differences. It’s nice to have commonalities, but I like that we’re very different in some regards. All I ask for is honesty and I do my best to give it.

    Thanks for commenting!

  2. I understand. I can be like that, in regards to calling folk. I’m no good for that. But it’s something to think about. Thanks for your insight!

  3. You ARE a good friend! Having patience with everybody and getting along with all types of personalities describes not a good friend, but a PERFECT friend – and we all know that doesn’t exist. Actually…now that I think about it, that might be the WORST kind of friend. A good friend is one who gets along with you some days, and gets on your nerves on other days. What makes a good friend – someone who, no matter what, is THERE when they are needed. It’s someone who knows you almost better than you know yourself, and one who doesn’t tell you what you WANT to hear, but what you NEED to hear. And you’re ok with that! And trust me, you only need one or two friends like that!

    What an insightful question. And yes, I’d be friends with me!

  4. You know , I consider my self a flake but when people are some serious stuff I try my best to come through. Now, coming through on showing up exactley on time .. I have to work on that. As I get older I try not to dwell on it, they say people are in your life for a reason or a season. I try to make the best of it

Leave a Reply

